DATE TBC, 2022


71 Richmond Street

Providence, RI




Doors: 8:00 PM • Show: 8:30pm
Tickets: ADV $25 • DOS $30
All Ages


German music project Funker Vogt are a electro-industrial, aggrotech, futurepop band which was formed by vocalist Jens Kästel and programmer Gerrit Thomas in 1995. The name of the band translates from German to English as "Radio Operator Vogt”, this being the surname of a friend of the band who was a military radio operator. The military concept of a radio operator provides a contrast with the musical roles of a DJ or a vocalist using a microphone.

The group appeared on several German compilations and, in 1996, released their debut album ‘Thanks for Nothing’. Following the release of two limited edition EPs (‘Words of Power’ and ‘Take Care’), Funker Vogt signed with the American record label Metropolis Records. Metropolis re-released ‘Thanks for Nothing’, followed’ by the ‘We Came to Kill’ in late 1997. Kastel and Thomas have participated, as remixers, on the Leæther Strip album ‘Yes’, I'm Limited, Vol. 2. In 2000, Funker Vogt released ‘Maschine Zeit’, followed by the remix EP ‘T’ in early 2001. Additionally to the core members of the band, concert members also include Björn Böttcher (keyboard) and Frank Schweigert (guitar, he replaced Thomas Kroll in 2004). Kai Schmidt writes most of the lyrics and manages the band through his own management company. They all hail from the town of Hamelin in Germany.

The majority of their lyrics revolve around the concepts of war. A distinctive theme is present in the band's work and stage presence; both their musicianship and their costuming are strongly reminiscent of military music and dress. This military aesthetic is also popular with the band's fan base. However, the political stance of Funker Vogt is decidedly anti-war; the band cites "war and social injustice" as their primary topics of discussion, noting that the goal of the album ‘Execution Tracks’, along with the accompanying video, was to "present the grotesque cruelties and the tragedy of war."

According to the band's website, as of 2011 both Björn Böttcher and Kai Schmidt are no longer collaborating with the band. In 2013, long time frontman Jens Kästel left the band after his last show on 30 November in Berlin. Four years later in 2017 Funker Vogt reformed with a new singer, Chris L. (Agonoize/The Sexorcist).



Currently signed to darkTunes Music Group, Third Realm is the eclectic dark electronic project founded in 2000 by Nathan Reiner of Buffalo, New York. Heavily influenced by Dark Wave and Industrial artists, Reiner puts his own twist on things demonstrating strong production skills, clever songwriting and meaningful lyrics. Third Realm has received international recognition through club/radio play, film placement, high profile compilation appearances and has shared the stage with some notable bands such as 3teeth, Hanzel Und Gretyl, Aesthetic Perfection, Psyclon Nine, Dawn of Ashes, Seabound, Echo Black & more!


WavePeak is the collaborative project of Connecticut based Jason Becker and Dennis McLaughlin. With years of experience in various dark music genres, Wavepeak draws upon influences such as Rhythmic Noise, EBM, Industrial Techno, and Dark Ambient. WavePeak will be releasing their new EP through Crunch Pod in March 2020

© 2015-2021 Goth-Ick/Unscene